SF RFC Annual 10’s tournament report


Santa Fe’s Los Santos Rugby Club dropped the championship match of the 38th annual Santa Fe Tens tournament Sunday to the Albuquerque Aardvarks, 21-17 at the Municipal Recreation Complex. The Santos beat the eventual winners 24-14 in the pool round, where they also beat Albuquerque’s Brujos 19-17 and drew 24-all with El Paso’s Scorpions.

​Tucson’s Old Pueblo Lightning won the women’s division in similar fashion by avenging their pool loss to Atomic Sisters of Albuquerque in the final, 14-10. 

​Second row Jason Osborn opened the men’s championship by scoring his first-ever try for the Santos, and Cory Micander added the two-point conversion kick for an early 7-0 lead. But the Aardvarks answered with two converted tries to snatch a 14-7 lead. Speedster Justin Stallworth streaked home after a loose pass from the visitors but an unsuccessful conversion left Santa Fe trailing 14-12 at the half. 

​Albuquerque scored the next try to take a commanding 21-12 lead with 10 minutes remaining. Micander then uncorked a signature play of deception to produce a 75-meter try for Jake Covington, but it was too little, too late to prevent Albuquerque’s 21-17 victory. 

Old Pueblo Lightning Tucson 

Loss to AS 17-12

Atomic Sisters 3-0



Brujos Win 19-17

24-24 Draw EP Scorps 

ARC Win 24-14

​SF 11 pts v ARC 10

Championship: SF RFC vs Aardvarks 17-21

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s